Kendrick Lamar’s Nostalgic Memories of Hip-Hop Legend Eazy-E

kendrick-lamar-eazy-e-01

A number of untimely deaths happen all too often to young artists, lending themselves to conspiracy theories surrounding their passing. Hip-hop phenomenon Eazy-E has been one of these legends that has come under the spotlight raising many questions as to why. But this time around, Kendrick Lamar talks to PAPERMAG in a genuine recap of the N.W.A rap icon, touching on their affiliated Compton life for the latest “Nowstalgia” issue.

In the piece, Lamar mentions how Eazy not only influenced his voice, but how the work he did made him a lyrical visionary of his time. Regarding how Eazy-E inspired the hip-hop superstar, Lamar stated:

“I wouldn’t be here today if it wasn’t for Eazy and I wouldn’t be able to say the things that I say, talk about my community the way I talk about it, for good or for bad. He’s 100% influenced me in terms of really being not only honest with myself, but honest about where I come from and being proud of where I come from.”

Check out the full story over at PAPERMAG.

To read my original post from Highsnobiety please click here.

Leave a Reply

